History of Kingshill House
The founding stones for Kingshill House were laid in 1705 and the house has remained a stable, reassuring and beautiful icon of something that truly lasts the tides of time.
Over the years the purpose of the house has changed – starting as a private home for several interesting and enterprising families, then being used by the local authority as offices – and finally restored back to its original splendour and opening its doors to the community of Cam and Dursley once more.
Since the 1990s it has welcomed thousands of people through its blue door and where the stunning Georgian rooms come alive with the sound of chatter and laughter while bespoke art is being created.
This year marks the 25th anniversary of the House being used as a community arts centre and we decided it was time to explore our history and tell the tale of Kingshill House.
We have not journeyed through the past on our own – we would not have been able to gather this information without the help of several key contributors, David Vanderveer and David Evans. We also thank the team who worked tirelessly to save the house from ruin in the 1990s and for recording the work, so that we may be able to look back and see how far we have come.
Exploring the history of the house is an on-going project. To ensure that we have as accurate and detailed information as possible, we are segmenting this project into three 'historic phases' - 1705-1930s, 1930s-1990s and the refurbishment of the house in the 1990s.